American Football British Style

Rams quarterback looks for the hand off

I recently went to watch the Yorkshire Rams visit to the Gateshead Senators who play in the British American Football National League.  The Division 1 North game was won 12-0 by the visitors.  There was plenty of hard hitting and a relaxed atmosphere on the sidelines.

I’m pleased by the way most of the photos have turned out.  I used 400 speed film and took advantage of the good light, so most of my shots are at least 1000 shutter speed.  This means there’s very little blur on the action.  I also had the aperture at 4.5 which throws the background out of focus and helps to make the players stand out.  I got into some good spots for the pictures because I’ve got some good knowledge of the game, as in the above picture where I was pretty sure the QB was about to turn.  Last time I took pictures of this sport, it was the NFL and I was about one mile away from the field.  Closeness is a bonus of amateur sports.

No 8 is stopped during a punt return

The returner is downed

The Referee

Senators quarterback Chris Doyle drops back

and throws the ball

Back to pass again

Gateshead wide receiver #5 looks to the sideline for instructions

Time out

3 thoughts on “American Football British Style

Discuss!

