Monument

If, like me, you’ve been mourning the loss of another 35mm film producer in the shape of Kodak, it may not be bad news after all.  According to AG Photography (from whom I get most of my film), Kodak recent move to Chapter 11 is a good move for the following reasons:

1. It means they can re-organise the company without the threat of the liabilities that have hung over the business in recent years;
2. They can re-finance the company. By making the move into bankruptcy protection they have been able to secure $950m of funding from Citibank
3. For a number of years it has seemed top management in the company have been obsessed with Wall Street and the share price of the company. In our opinion this has been a hinderance to the effective management of the business. Now the company is de-listed from the NYSE, they don’t have to concern themselves with Wall Street and can take decisions freely.
4. It is expected the company will remain in Chapter 11 for around 12 months, at the end of which a new Kodak will emerge.

Perhaps Kodak will do an ‘Ilford’ and emerge as a solvent company with a plan for the future.

In the meantime, here’s a picture of a monument taken on monochrome film and then worked on a lot in Photoshop.

I cropped it and then worked on the levels until all the shades of grey were just about gone.

9 thoughts on “Monument

  1. I’ve noticed that several articles and commentators are talking about Kodak and film being practically dead. I think it will be a very different Kodak that emerges from this, and hopefully one that still makes film and makes money from film. Film is still alive and well, and hopefully Kodak will be alive for a long time to come.

  2. makes me want to dust off my old Olympus OM10 and fire off a roll or two of Ilford Delta…been a long time…

  3. It really is sad about Kodak/film. I can’t imagine shooting again with it, as the cost is too much for me, but there is just something so wonderful about film. Like your image too.

  4. I am not and have never been a fan of Kodak film, but I like the company for what they did for photography. I am waxing nostalgic about Kodak a lot these days after hearing of the bankruptcy, but I suppose that’s because I have Kodak equipment in my darkroom. I don’t view the bankruptcy as “death” or “passing” of the company, just a respite for them to reorganize and find a way to move forward into a sustainable future.

Discuss!

